Selection Earns 121 Nominations at Nationwide Arts & Leisure Awards

Selection has been nominated for 121 Nationwide Arts & Leisure Journalism awards, surpassing the publication’s earlier report of 99 nods in 2021.

Selection was nominated for finest leisure publication for its “Leaving the Kingdom” difficulty, launched on Dec. 21, 2021, with outgoing Disney CEO Bob Iger. Senior music author and chief music critic Chris Willman and govt editor Brent Lang have been nominated for print journalist of the yr, whereas deputy music editor Jem Aswad and chief correspondent Elizabeth Wagmeister have been nominated for on-line journalist of the yr.

“Our Selection newsroom has had a banner yr in breaking information, trade scoops and visitors. These nominations are simply one other signal of the unbelievable work our reporters and editors are doing because the No. 1 leisure information model,” mentioned co-editors-in-chief Ramin Setoodeh and Cynthia Littleton. earned a nomination for finest leisure web site; the crew is comprised of editor William Earl, digital design director Dan Doperalski, deputy editors Pat Saperstein and Meredith Woerner, digital information director Zack Sharf, senior editor Maane Khatchatourian, information editors Jordan Moreau and Ellise Shafer, affiliate editors J. Kim Murphy and Ethan Shanfeld, social media editor Katcy Stephan and social media coordinator Rachel Website positioning.

Willman leads all Selection staffers with 17 nominations, together with nods for finest music critic; ebook critic; columnist; humor writing; music and humanities enterprise writing; movie star information; pandemic reporting; music persona profile over 2,500 phrases; arts commentary; streaming and humanities tender information; and movie star function. Aswad follows with 15 nominations, together with finest music critic; music enterprise writing; leisure broadcast; arts arduous information; variety within the music trade; pandemic reporting; music function; and a number of nods with Setoodeh for his or her Lil Nas X Selection cowl.

Lang has 9 nominations, together with finest headline; film trade function over 1,000 phrases and pandemic reporting with movie & media reporter Rebecca Rubin; appreciation writing with senior artisans editor Jazz Tangcay for his or her Halyna Hutchins tribute; persona profile; film trade function beneath 1,000 phrases with senior leisure & media author Matt Donnelly; movie commentary; and movie arduous information. Senior leisure reporter Angelique Jackson earned eight nominations; together with nods for variety in leisure and persona profile beneath 2,500 phrases for her “Feminist Evolution of ‘Jurassic World’” cowl; movie star function over 1,000 phrases; tender information broadcast function over 5 minutes; variety within the TV trade; TV persona profile; and movie function.

Selection’s video sequence “The Take” earned two nominations, one for hosts Wagmeister and Clayton Davis, Selection’s senior awards editor, and one other for finest video information with Wagmeister, Jackson, video vice chairman Alex Castro and supervising producer Laela Zadeh Schmidt. Different Selection movies with “CODA” Oscar winner Troy Kotsur and Viola Davis earned further nominations for Schmidt, Davis, Wagmeister, Sharf, director of bodily manufacturing Preston Northrop and senior producer Nicholas Stango. Selection‘s “Awards Circuit” podcast took nominations for hosts Davis, Tangcay, TV editor Michael Schneider, affiliate options editor Jenelle Riley and TV options editor Emily Longeretta.

Different Selection nominees included Wagmeister, Schneider and senior TV editor Brian Steinberg with seven; govt music editor Shirley Halperin with six; Davis, Rubin, Setoodeh and senior vice chairman Tim Grey with 5; Donnelly, chief movie critic Owen Gleiberman and govt editor of worldwide & senior author Manori Ravindran with 4; Tangcay, Riley and options editor Malina Saval with three.

Incomes two nods apiece have been Saperstein, Stephan, Schmidt, Northrop, chief movie critic Peter Debruge, chief TV critic Daniel D’Addario, worldwide reporter Okay.J. Yossman, legit editor Gordon Cox, chief TV critic Caroline Framke, senior media author Gene Maddaus, worldwide reporter Naman Ramachandran and music freelancer Leena Tailor. Different nominees included Earl, Doperalski, Castro, Stango, Sharf, Longeretta, Shanfeld, Littleton, govt vice chairman of worldwide content material Steven Gaydos, senior worldwide movie editor Elsa Keslassy, senior tradition & occasions editor Marc Malkin, Italy and Center East correspondent Nick Vivarelli, and music freelancers A.D. Amorosi and Roy Trakin.

The Nationwide Arts & Leisure Journalism awards are offered yearly by the Los Angeles Press Club. Winners can be introduced on December 4, 2022, on the Sheraton Common Lodge. See the total record of nominees here.

Leave a Comment